Hannibal Buress slams Bill Cosby during stand-up routine: ‘You rape women’ 

Bill Cosby performs a stand-up routine in Las Vegas last month.

Bill Cosby performs a stand-up routine in Las Vegas last month.

Hannibal Buress isn’t a fan of Bill Cosby.

The comedian called the iconic funnyman a rapist during his stand-up routine at a Philadelphia club last week and his comments are making headlines after video of his act was posted online by Philadelphia magazine.

“Thirteen?” Buress said, referring to the number of women who have claimed that the TV star sexually abused them, with the allegations dating back to the 1970s. “It’s even worse because Bill Cosby has the f—-n’ smuggest old black man public persona that I hate.

“He gets on TV (and says), ‘Pull your pants up black people, I was on TV in the ’80s! I can talk down to you because I had a successful sitcom!’ Yeah, but you rape women, Bill Cosby, so turn the crazy down a couple notches.”

“I guess I want to just at least make it weird for you to watch ‘Cosby Show’ reruns,” Buress added later in his routine. “I’ve done this bit onstage and people think I’m making it up.

“That s–t is upsetting, if you didn’t know about it … when you leave here, Google ‘Bill Cosby rape.’ That s–t has more results than ‘Hannibal Buress.'”

Buress’ comments quickly drew attention from fans and the media, and the “Broad City” star addressed the scrutiny his stand-up received during a Tuesday interview with Howard Stern.

“It’s a weird thing, somebody filmed my show in Philly,” Buress said. “I’ve been doing that bit off and on for six months talking about the Cosby situation.”

“I just read some stuff and researched,” he added. “Anybody can get that information.”

When asked if he regrets addressing Cosby in his stand-up routine, he said, “I said it, I’ve got to stand on it.”

He also made an indirect reference to the brouhaha over his comments Tuesday on Twitter.

“Boy, that escalated quickly,” Buress tweeted. “I mean that really got out of hand fast.”

Posted on October 22, 2014, in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

